Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

L15 vtec tuning

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2011, 02:43 AM
L15 vtec tuning

Hi all... i'm a noob here and from another part of the world, so please don't flame me.. i'm looking for suggestions for my L15 engine

currently i have L15 Vtec engine on MT. This motor has run some Pnp, reamed throttle body, engine balance. using ORD header, downpipe, bpipe, and hks muffler with 2" piping. intake is using top fuel chambered open filter and NGK IK22 spark plugs. And I use Dastek Q for timing and AFR. wheel is using ssr type c 15".

From this I got 141whp with around 171Nm torque at 6000rpm. i'm keeping the rev limiter at 6500, since this is a daily driver.

I need suggestions on what to do next to increase power output while keeping stock reliability. What's the most economical choice between swapping engine with a K series and upgrading to Turbo for the L15? keeping in mind, i just do this for passion... i never go on a race...
Tks

Last edited by kodok3ribu; 06-09-2011 at 02:58 AM.
Old 06-08-2011, 02:47 AM
Turbo L15 is more affordable than a K-Swap and comparable in power output depending on what you put together.

What sort of PnP work? What bore TB? You had someone re-balance the rotating assembly.. are you using a billet crank/forged rods or pistons?

141whp is pretty damn good, do you have a dyno chart you can post? What sort of EMS/Piggyback are you running? GE8 or GD3?

You are not going to be able to keep stock reliability if you are increasing power output so you may want to just throw that thought out the window. Can you make reliable power? Yes, but by default the stresses WILL be considerably greater because of the added cylinder pressure.

Last edited by DiamondStarMonsters; 06-08-2011 at 02:49 AM.
Old 06-08-2011, 03:04 AM
Originally Posted by DiamondStarMonsters