Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

hfp muffler shortened!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2011, 04:51 AM
5 Year Member
Talking hfp muffler shortened!!

[IMG]
[/IMG]
Proceed at own risk. Just shortened my hfp muffler by removing the neck between the can and the tip. This was done basicly just for looks as well as better clearance. I'm not an expert and make no claims of power increase I just didn't care for the look of the neck. Here's what I found. The muffler seems slightly louder probably because the outlet is now under the car and not at the back of the bumper. The result that I was hoping for was less scraping backing out of drive ways/speedbumps and well I haven't scraped it since!! If you have access to a welder its free so totally worth it for me. If you take it to a shop they'll probably charge the shop minimum around 50usd. Sorry for no step by step photos but its really straight forward so if there's any questions let me know. Thanks

Old 06-18-2011, 04:54 AM
5 Year Member
Next I want to move the brackets to bring it closer to the car. Hangs down too far for me

Old 06-18-2011, 04:59 AM
5 Year Member
Name:  2011-04-19105340.jpg
Views: 375
Size:  100.9 KB

Old 06-18-2011, 05:58 AM
5 Year Member
or you get an HKS that fits

Name:  001-11.jpg
Views: 255
Size:  43.2 KB

Old 06-18-2011, 01:52 PM
5 Year Member
[QUOTE=Black3sr;1004727]or you get an HKS that fits

Lol I really like the look of your muffler. I'm currently saving up for a spoon n1. I actually joined recently in an attempt to purchase one from the classifieds but it sold before I got paid ;my luck. Are you happy with the hks? Auto or manual tranny?thanks

Old 06-18-2011, 03:21 PM
5 Year Member
I really like the HKS. Not too loud, just enjoyable unless you floor it. It is quiet enough to pull away from police car without getting stopped -)

I am AT

Old 06-18-2011, 05:00 PM
5 Year Member