Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Cooling mods for GD

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2013, 09:39 AM
5 Year Member
Cooling mods for GD

Hello fellow FFers!

As some may already know, I've been running the Greddy turbo kit for the past 5 years and noticed that my GD runs pretty hot due to the radiator being blocked by the AC condensor as well as the FMIC. I recently installed a 14 row oil cooler and a new Forged aluminum radiator which helped bring temps down a bit but I still would like better cooling for hot track days.

Water temps I see in various driving conditions:

82c - 89c cruising/highway driving
90c - 95c city driving
93c - 100c stop and go traffic
95c - 101c - track driving

Note: Radiator fan switch is set to turn on at 94c via flashpro.

When temps reach 100c/101c I tend to freak out a little so I blast my heater to quickly bring temps back down within regular opperating temps.

I was just wondering what others have done for better cooling effiiciency.

Last edited by JamesBizzle; 09-05-2013 at 11:14 AM.
Old 09-05-2013, 10:22 AM
5 Year Member
For the most part your oil temps seem fine.

What oil are you running?

I've got Liqui Moly 10w60 GT1.

Temps according the AEM oil temp gauge go up to 230F/110C when giving it some stick. Anything under 120C/248F should be ok. Anything above that and you'll probably have to get a new head gasket.

Get a water/meth kit since you already got an oil cooler

Old 09-05-2013, 11:13 AM
5 Year Member
Sorry for the confusion but those are actually my water temp readings listed above. I'll edit my post to prevent further confusion.

I believe the water temp readings I'm seeing in stop and go traffic and at the track are a bit high, are they not?

to answer ur question I'm currently running 0w30 German Castrol Syntec.

Last edited by JamesBizzle; 09-05-2013 at 11:43 AM.
Old 09-05-2013, 11:39 AM
5 Year Member