Fit Freak Newbie / FAQs New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted. FAQs will also be answered here.

2018 Splash Shield/Engine Cover Dropped

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2019, 08:40 PM
2018 Splash Shield/Engine Cover Dropped

I'm new to FitFreak; this is my first post. I had a 2013 Fit Sport and loved it. I've had a 2018 EX-L since November of 2018 and like it a lot, too!

I read through several threads about splash shield problems, but I didn't see my question/problem. If I missed it, please bear with me.

I was driving on the freeway and heard a loud rat-a-tat-tat sound for a half mile or so. I slowed down and began to exit when the sound stopped. Neither my wife or I saw anything in the road that we could have run over. When we got into town and drove slowly, I heard a scraping sound. After stopping, I looked and saw the shield barely hanging on. A friend got on the ground and removed two screws to release the shield completely. (I haven't looked under the car myself yet.)

There is a lip at one end of the shield, but I don't know if it slips under something to help hold the shield in place. I'm sure there should be many more screws and/or clips holding the shield in place, right? There is about a 3-inch tear in the plastic at one corner where it looks like a square-headed pin may go.

Does this shield need to be removed to drain the oil? (I had my first oil change done four months ago.) If so, I suppose it's possible/likely the garage didn't put the shield back properly or use new/good pins to do it.

I think I can repair the torn place by sewing it together with wire, buy some new pins, and also use wire-ties to secure the shield in place. Do you agree?

I'm curious about the configuration of this shield; Amazon tells me that a shield for the "3rd generation (2015 plus)" Fit won't fit my 2018. Is that your belief, too?

Thanks for your help!

Jim

I tried to post a photo of my shield, but I couldn't find the toolbars I needed.