Fit Suspension & Brake Modifications Threads discussing suspension and brake related modifications for the Honda Fit

Low brake fluid level.

Old 02-21-2013, 04:45 AM
5 Year Member
Low brake fluid level.

I'm worried about how low my brake fluid level is. I've changed my pads & rotors up front but didn't change my rear drums. I haven't seen any leaks so far. So I was wondering if me not changing my rear drums is causing my fluid level to be low. Also could it be that I need to bleed them? My brake pedal seems soft, I have to push it really down to get the car to stop, more than usual. Idk what's the cause, I'm new to brakes. Help me out please. I don't know if I should just buy new shoes and spring retainers or just bleed my brakes and put new fluid in or both? Idk what y'all opinions are?

Old 02-21-2013, 05:30 AM
5 Year Member
Unlike discs drum brakes don't "use" fluid as they wear. Not relining the rear brakes won't cause low fluid. Try refilling and bleeding.

Old 02-21-2013, 07:59 AM
Super Moderator
Originally Posted by spreadhead View Post
Unlike discs drum brakes don't "use" fluid as they wear. Not relining the rear brakes won't cause low fluid. Try refilling and bleeding.
I have never heard of that. As far as I know the only way you would ever be low on brake fluid is if there was a leak. Just changing pads and rotors should not at all effect the brake fluid

Old 02-21-2013, 09:22 AM
Originally Posted by MNfit View Post
I have never heard of that. As far as I know the only way you would ever be low on brake fluid is if there was a leak. Just changing pads and rotors should not at all effect the brake fluid