Higher octane gas with performance upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2019, 12:37 PM
Higher octane gas with performance upgrades?

Hey everyone,

I知 curious of everyone痴 opinion when it comes to having a cold air intake and performance exhaust installed if I should upgrade to a higher octane gas. I知 running a AEM intake and a HKS silent hi power.

Thanks

Old 07-06-2019, 01:34 PM
I have no mechanic background nor i worked on cars.

but as far as i am concerns, unless you are adding forced induction (eg, turbo), or change pistons,i dun think putting premium fuel helps.

my understanding is that the reason you need higher octane gas is for higher compression ratio, and i dun think CAI nor exhaust(non-catback i am assuming) has much effect on compression ratio..

I am probably wrong so dun quote on me.

ps. you should check out a lot of videos on CAI (Cold Air Intake). I was gonna do one but i feel that its not worth the price, especially when it comes to power increase. i figured i rather spend money on shifter cable bushing, better tires and short throw shifter (no one is making one right now.. hopefully someone will start mass-produce it soon..)

Old 07-06-2019, 03:06 PM
5 Year Member
The benefits of premium are only really seen on higher power engines. I did feel like my Fit was peppier on Premium but not worth the extra cost. MPG went down too. Save your money.

Old 07-07-2019, 04:53 AM
5 Year Member
Octane is a measurement of how resistant gasoline is to detonation, which can be caused by excess heat in the combustion chamber causing the fuel/air to ignite before the spark plug fires. Since you're not going forced induction and you can't change your compression ratio, the only thing that would affect detonation is spark timing.