General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Has anyone done a comparison between Fit sport AT vs. Fit sport MT??

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 06:53 PM
Question Has anyone done a comparison between Fit sport AT vs. Fit sport MT??

Hello, everyone!
I'm new to this forum and this is my first post!

Anyways, I was reading an article from TOV (Temple of VTEC) about Fit and they said Fit sport AT might be faster (or peppier) than Fit sport MT due to difference in their gear ratios.

They did not do the direct comparison since they did not test drive MT and AT at the same time.

So I was wondering any of you guys have done such comparison.

Old 04-27-2006, 10:00 PM
I tested both back to back, twice, and purchased the auto. I am a manual driver and ordered my previous element with one. The Auto feels more peppy to me too. The manual felt weird with regards to the pedal and shifter location, but was okay. The redline is 6500 rpm so this is no high reving IVtec engine and thus not nearly as fun to shift gears in as my old element.
Also, at 70 mph the auto was spinning around 2600 rpms and the manual was around 3400 rpm's. The auto also has a full manual mode that is really cool. It shifts really fast. It's also the only vehicle in this class with a 5 speed automatic (and with F1 style paddle shifters) making it a class above the rest. Just my two cents.

Last edited by watchful one; 04-27-2006 at 10:06 PM.
Old 04-27-2006, 10:25 PM
Given that the manual weighs less, and has 5 gear ratios in the same space as the auto has 4, and does not have a torque converter to slow it down, I would be extremely surprised if the auto was faster.

The short gearing that people are complaining about for cruising on the highway will most likely give the manual an advantage in accelerating.

The auto may "feel" fast for some reason, but I doubt the numbers bear this out.

As an example in the Honda line, the Civic MT is 1.5 seconds faster than the AT to 60 mph.