General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Water Getting into the car from MULTIPLE PLACES !!!

Old 12-24-2009, 01:55 PM
Water Getting into the car from MULTIPLE PLACES !!!

Hi!

I'am a newbie here, and decided to join to share with you the issues I am
facing with my 2005 1.4 Jazz.
I've been reading some posts on this forum about water infiltrations, but I guess I still haven't found nothing similar to what I am facing ...

Water keeps getting into the car when it stays on downpour for some time, leaving the driver's side footwell completely soaked.

I've done several water pouring tests and I could find the water getting in from 3 different places :

1 - Between Inner Door Panel and the Door Lining. This was the first one I could found. I took the car to the dealer and it seems this is a common falult (already known by honda) and found that you guys here also know the fault. It is now repaired.

2 - After the first repair, water kept getting into the driver's side footwell, leaving it completely soaked ... No luck. So I decided to do some more comprehensive tests, and found that the water was also getting into the car by under the rubber frame seal on the bottom chassis surface, where the door joins when closed. I gess I will have to replace this rubber seal too.

3 - Now for the worst ... I removed the carpets and the floor isolation material and I asked for a friend to pour water continuously onto the windshield and onto the front left pillar and window areas while I was checking inside the car from where the water gets into the car. After finding the water getting in from under the frame rubber seal, I also found water coming from behind the dashboard, near the top of it ... Damn ...