General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Fit battery weak?

Old 08-05-2006, 01:31 AM
Unhappy Fit battery weak?

Today after work a friend of mine needed a jump on his 98 Mirage (actually it's not his, but for the sake of this topic it's his ). I borrowed jumper cables from one of the valet employees, and tried hooking up my Fit to his Mirage. Nothing! His starter wouldn't even turn. Not even while I revved the Fit to 4K. We thought maybe if we let the Mirage battery charge for a few minutes it would start, but 10 minutes on the Fit juice, and the Mirage still wouldn't start. So I had the bright idea to try the battery from my Dynalite battery pack (I'm a photographer, and my friend and I had just finished a wedding). We hooked up the flash battery to the Mirage and on the first try it started. Dang, could it be possible? I mean, my flash battery isn't that powerful... maybe the valet that hooked up the cables did not make a proper connection to the Fit's battery? But the lights in the Mirage's dash would turn on when hooked to the Fit... strange. Yet it can handle the 200W stock audio system, all the car lights, etc. Maybe an Optima battery upgrade is in my future path

Old 08-05-2006, 09:34 AM
Someone that Posts too much
i jump start two other cars fine, not sure why you have had problems

maybe you should hook up the cables yourself next time

-joe

Old 08-05-2006, 10:48 AM
You're probably right. When I hooked up my flash battery I saw just how bad clamps of the jumper cables were, not a lot of grip.

Old 08-05-2006, 12:18 PM
Someone that spends his life on FitFreak.net
I've jumped two old cars fine. the red terminal is sometimes hard to grasp

Old 08-08-2006, 12:32 PM
kko
Where to connect jumper cable?