General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Some misc. questions about the Fit

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2017, 09:54 PM
Some misc. questions about the Fit

Hi all, new member here.

I've been driving a big stupid van for the last 20 years, and it's time for a smaller car that gets better mileage.

After looking around a bit, I think I've decided on the Fit.
I'm currently living in Bend, Oregon and there aren't many Fits at the dealers here, but there are some in Portland and Salem, so in the next couple of weeks will be checking some out.

Now for some questions:

I plan on buying used, to keep those payments down, but am not sure about what the mileage cap should be. I trust the Honda brand, but offhand, am thinking I don't want to buy anything with more than 75k miles on it.

I've read about the difference between the Sport and the base, it sounds like mostly trim. I'm assuming the cargo space is the same?

Does anybody know what year or model first had the backup camera? I know I can have them installed aftermarket, but was curious. I've seen some listed as having a Nav, system, didn't know if that was only the Sport, or if they started in a specific year.

I've also read that the Fit can't tow anything, so pulling a tiny camper is out. Has anybody tried camping in their Fit? Can you remove the front passenger seat?

Since they're front wheel drive, do they do ok in snow?

Thanks!

Old 04-15-2017, 10:27 PM
5 Year Member
Its got a 1.5 liter engine that makes less HP than any 1500 CC motorcycle, you can pull a tiny trailer (IE some of the really light home-made tear drops, but you have to allow for the side effects. Its a light car that the wind easily over-powers in cros winds, Mine is an 07 sport, it has a rear sway bar as part of the sport package FWIW>.