tint

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2007, 08:00 PM
tint

people in pa what percent tint do you have on your fit

whats legal

and people who have darker how often do you get pulled over and what are the penalties

Old 06-11-2007, 08:43 PM
5 Year Member
Good question. I plan on getting tint done soon and I was wondering the same thing.

I have read (and I am no expert) that you generally will not get pulled over for just having tinted windows. Usually you have to do something wrong first and then they add on illegal tint on top. The PA laws for tint say 70% of light must be let through - which basically means clear or the light tint from the factory. Anything darker is technically illegal. (Anyone with more knowledge feel free to add it)

Old 06-21-2007, 02:19 PM
Honda Fit Forums Moderator
According to What is Legal Tint in Pennsylvania?,
What is Legal Tint in Pennslyvania?

The following tint is LEGAL IN PENNSYLVANIA!Unlike other States, which explicitly state a percentage in their law, Pennsylvania does not. Therefore it is necessary to make a 'reasonable' estimate.

Based on common sense and the Law in other States, it appears that tint with a transmittance much below 25-30% may not permit a person to view the interior and would therefore be ILLEGAL under current PA Law.

Therfore the term "Legal Tint" when used in this site, refers to ...
Tint with transmittance above approx. 25 - 30%, that conforms with all applicable PA Statutes, Regulations, and FMVSSs
All very confusing to me. I will not be tinting my windows

See the link above for more details.

Last edited by LizardKing; 06-21-2007 at 02:21 PM.
Old 06-26-2007, 05:15 PM
5 Year Member
I ended up getting 20% all around (obviously not the windshield) at Car Pretty Auto Salon. I like the way it looks. Not too dark, but hard to see inside the car in certain lighting conditions. It keeps the inside of the car much cooler in the summer heat.

Old 06-26-2007, 05:22 PM
Honda Fit Forums Moderator