The Wasteland The wasteland is unmoderated. Please do not enter if you have a weak stomach or can easily be offended. Only Administrators will have the right to moderate posts here.

For the readers, and "students of life" on the forums.

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 07:46 PM
Banned
For the readers, and "students of life" on the forums.

I want to recommend a great modern author for people who like weird fiction/action/horror stories.

Dan Simmons is one of my favorite authors, and I have been collecting his books for about the last 20 years. If these are your favorite genres of literature, try to find "Carrion Comfort" and "Rishi" as his earlier books. If you like them, he has a rather large collection of works that will amaze you.

I am currently reading "The Terror". This book is dedicated to Simmon's love of the original early '50s SciFi/horror movie "The Thing", starring Kenneth Tobey (from TV's "Whirly Birds"), and James Arness (from TV's "Gunsmoke") as the creature.

"The Terror" is the name of one of two British research ships that sailed in the 1848 time frame to find the "Northwest Passage"- an as-yet (in 1848) undiscovered sea route through the Arctic Ocean, along the northern coast of North America via waterways amidst the Canadian Arctic Archipelago, connecting the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

The two ships become ice-bound for two years, during which time the crews of both ships are pursued, killed and eaten one-by-one by a 14-foot tall alien visitor to earth. Aside from being trapped in frigid conditions and running out of food and survival supplies, being stalked by something completely unnatural and alien makes life a nightmare for the two crews.

The story is full of true, technical sailing details from the 19th. century, and the story builds in intensity with excruciating living difficulties in the daily lives of the explorers.