2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum Threads discussing engine mods/swaps/tuning for the 2nd generation GE8 Honda Fit.

IS this a real GE turbo kit?!

  #21  
Old 11-17-2012, 12:56 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 4,015
Originally Posted by TPColgett View Post
Found this totally by coincidence:
cxracing.com: 08 Turbo Intercooler kit HONDA FIT 1.3L/1.5L Bolt on

This is what they show as the "Stainless Steel Turbo Manifold"


AND

This is what they show as an "installed" pic:


That sure is a funny looking '08 fit

As the GF keeps asking me to turbo her 2012 and I KNOW others have been wanting a Kit I have sent them an EMail to ask if this is a real in stock ready to ship kit. Being that this is CHEAP, I am 100% certain that there could be potential "quality" issues, and as there is no mention of fuel control included you would be on your own to figure out how to tune it... but I do have a GReddy Emanage sitting around with a GD harness...

Thoughts?
Um... I didn't scan the thread too thoroughly... but um, the installed pics are of JDM Fits, which pretty much have always have turbos for it. If you also note the reference to '08 Fit... Japan got the GE in 08, but we had to wait till '09. Edit: forgot to add, USDMs don't have the option for the 1.3L (L13A) engine. That's JDM (and actually, EUDM also).

So, no... I don't think it would be a good idea to buy THIS kit.
 

Last edited by Goobers; 11-17-2012 at 01:28 AM.
  #22  
Old 11-17-2012, 01:01 AM
TPColgett's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 1,950
Not knowing GE's remotely as well as I do GD's, what in the photo designates the car as a JDM model?
 
  #23  
Old 11-17-2012, 01:07 AM
Goobers's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wandering around.
Posts: 4,015
Originally Posted by TPColgett View Post
Not knowing GE's remotely as well as I do GD's, what in the photo designates the car as a JDM model?
layout of the front.

on JDM, the radiator cap is in that opening of the grille cover.

on USDM, the cap (and the radiator itself) is on the other side of the radiator support.

you'll also note the lever to release the hood.

JDM swings over the radiator support.

USDM, comes up an opening in the grille cover (like the opposite of the radiator cap).

overall, the older JDM GEs' nose is shorter (I think the newer GEs are getting similar to USDM<- I thought I read that... but maybe not), so the layout is different.
 

Last edited by Goobers; 11-17-2012 at 01:12 AM.
  #24  
Old 11-17-2012, 01:15 AM
TPColgett's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 1,950
Thank you! Good info to know
 
  #25  
Old 11-17-2012, 03:54 AM
Member
5 Year Member
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Posts: 6,977
Originally Posted by DiamondStarMonsters View Post
It's looking more and more like my next toy is going to be a redneck special 87-93 5 speed Fox body and probably a 351 or 393CID small block ford and a very large single turbo. Like a T6 frame PT91 or so.
Fox Bodies are excellent.

Would totally drive one.
 
  #26  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:14 PM
DiamondStarMonsters's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,424
Just to follow up on the china turbo discussion... One enterprising knockoff manufacture has found a clever new way to make these things not only unreliable but horrifyingly dangerous, check this out:

Name:  402D176A-0C13-4D80-B78C-0BC3007DC3D7-3753-0000047AA8A8AB5A.jpg
Views: 645
Size:  290.2 KB

Name:  89547AA3-A5E6-4AFE-9C6E-4EB23309FAFA-3753-0000047ABB8BE9CA.jpg
Views: 339
Size:  337.5 KB

Anyone else seeing the problem here, aside from the general wheel failure... any guesses whats so messed up about these pictures? lol
 
  #27  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:17 PM
TPColgett's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 1,950
...O_O....

Never again will I consider a knock off turbo....

especially if it mentions anything about "cast"
 
  #28  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:24 PM
Wanderer.'s Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 4,364


That's a single casted piece? I like how they put the little mark there like the torque was inspected or something.
 
  #29  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:24 PM
DiamondStarMonsters's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,424
Yes you are seeing that correctly, a cast aluminum compressor wheel is completely normal.

The compressor wheel, compressor locknut and the entire turbine shaft all being cast together from soft ass aluminum? .. That is a truly impressive bit of innovation.. holy hell.
 
  #30  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:30 PM
Wanderer.'s Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 4,364
Imitation locknut

How long did that thing last before it blew up? 5 minutes?
 
  #31  
Old 11-19-2012, 03:53 PM
DiamondStarMonsters's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,424
On a 15L CAT diesel off-road hauler truck, 26,000miles. Let go pulling up a hill while loaded.

The OE turbo lasted a hair more than 250,000.
 
  #32  
Old 11-20-2012, 03:36 AM
MNfit's Avatar
Super Moderator
iTrader: (8)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,369
That is why you dont buy knock off parts. You may save a few bucks but in the long run it very well may cost you big $$$
 
  #33  
Old 11-20-2012, 08:35 AM
Schoat333's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brunswick Ohio
Posts: 501
Originally Posted by TPColgett View Post
OR contact Boomslang for a harness and use an AEM FIC or GReddy Ultimate now and FlashPro when/if/later
Unfortunately, I was just in contact with boomslang a few months ago, and they have zero plans to make a GE patch harness. They say the ECU pigtails are controlled by Honda, and they are not able to source them.

That shouldn't stop anyone from using a piggyback tho. I cut into my factory harness to install mine, and it only took a few hours to do it right.

I'd be interested in the intercooler piping from this, but that's really about all. I don't think I could sell, the pieces I don't use, for enough to make it worth while tho.
 
  #34  
Old 11-20-2012, 11:53 AM
TPColgett's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 1,950
Originally Posted by Schoat333 View Post
Unfortunately, I was just in contact with boomslang a few months ago, and they have zero plans to make a GE patch harness. They say the ECU pigtails are controlled by Honda, and they are not able to source them.

That shouldn't stop anyone from using a piggyback tho. I cut into my factory harness to install mine, and it only took a few hours to do it right.

I'd be interested in the intercooler piping from this, but that's really about all. I don't think I could sell, the pieces I don't use, for enough to make it worth while tho.
Hmm, so the issue is the plugs for the Honda ECU? I wonder what a partial cut of a wiring loom from my local wrecker would cost....

Probbably much more than a wire in harness I just dont like the idea of cutting into factory harnesses
 
  #35  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:18 PM
Member
5 Year Member
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Posts: 6,977
China/eBay parts, 1/2 the price, 1/10 the quality.
 
  #36  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:23 PM
TPColgett's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 1,950
.... i think 1/10th is maybe even over generous
 
  #37  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:06 PM
Schoat333's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brunswick Ohio
Posts: 501
Originally Posted by TPColgett View Post
Hmm, so the issue is the plugs for the Honda ECU? I wonder what a partial cut of a wiring loom from my local wrecker would cost....

Probbably much more than a wire in harness I just dont like the idea of cutting into factory harnesses
That appears to be it. I was worried when I started to hack into my harness, but its actually not bad at all. The ECU locations give you plenty of room, and it will be easy to remove if needed.

Even with a junk yard harness, you would need the ECU as well, to get the female side. That would probably be quite pricey.


Here's the actual email I received.

Scott,



The ECU connectors that the 09+ Fit uses are restricted by Honda. They are very difficult to obtain. We are unable to purchase them at this time. Sorry!





Regards,



Rustin W. Bernskoetter

Boomslang Fabrication LLC

573.635.6656 voice

573.635.6643 fax
 
  #38  
Old 09-18-2016, 01:03 AM
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Schoat333 View Post
Even with a junk yard harness, you would need the ECU as well, to get the female side. That would probably be quite pricey.

glad to see someone else is thinking the same as me :-)

 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
fantola
2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum
99
07-27-2013 10:15 AM
The Assassin
Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning
13
11-19-2010 03:33 PM
piglet_oinkoink
2nd Generation (GE 08-13)
26
03-01-2009 03:38 PM
slowgd3
Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning
0
03-26-2007 11:15 PM
southwilrise87
Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning
17
05-21-2006 10:37 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: IS this a real GE turbo kit?!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.