2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lug Nut Info

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 10:43 AM
5 Year Member
Lug Nut Info

A couple o' questions:

I got some new wheels from a friend [for dirt cheap] I'm going to put on my 2010 GE, and I'm a rookie at tuner wheels/lugs/etc.

- The wheel manufacturer specifically states these wheels require "tuner-style" lugs. Any brands I should go for, or stay away from?

- When choosing lugs, considering the wheels are not Honda OEM, should I still go by the Honda [acorn type] specs for lugs, or go strictly by what type of lug nut the wheel manufacturer recommends for a specific wheel?

I'm not exactly sure which matters... the actual lug nut posts, the wheel itself, or both?

Also, does Honda GE-specific torque specs come into play here on a 3rd-party wheel? IF so, what are the torque specs? I'm thinking the torque specs are lug post specific, right?

Excuse the 50,000 questions. I just don't want to screw up brand new wheels, or my lug posts.

Thanks

Last edited by annunC8; 02-12-2013 at 06:33 PM.
Old 02-12-2013, 11:15 AM
5 Year Member
In this case, both the lugnut seat on the wheel and the wheel stud spec/thread pitch are important.

Some wheels have a unique indentation around the lugnut seat, which requires a special lugnut that matches up (usually made by the wheel manufacturer). A lot of times though, the case is just that you need spline drive lugnuts because there isn't enough clearance around the lugnut to get a normal-size socket in there.

Sounds like in the case of your wheels that it's just a clearance issue, so I'd just buy a namebrand set of tuner lugnuts and as long as they're 12x1.5 you should be good.