2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stuck Magic Seat

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 06:12 PM
Stuck Magic Seat

Hello everyone, I'm new to Honda but fell in love with a 2009 Honda Fit Sport MT for my daily that I bought on Monday. So much fun to drive for such an economical car! It has its issues since it has 140k miles when I got it, the first one that I really want to fix though is the rear drivers side seat. I was having trouble with the rear seats locking down, they seemed to come up WAY to easy and I thought they weren't locking. I haven't noticed them bouncing around or anything though when driving. I slammed the one seat down to make sure it locked, and now I cannot get it pulled up. Is there a manual release hidden somewhere to unlock it if they become stuck? I'm hoping I wasn't too rough with it and actually broke it due to some ignorance on how they work when I first got it.

Any help is much appreciated!

Old 08-16-2018, 07:29 PM
5 Year Member
There's no latch on the bottom. They just clip in. Try driving around with it for a while and see if it jiggles the mechanism loose. I should probably go WD40 my latches up now just in case ...

Old 08-16-2018, 10:19 PM
So do they come up really easily though when they are working properly? I slammed it closed in the first place because it didn't feel like it was actually latching and would lift up so easily. The passenger side still doesn't feel like it actually latches when I lift or close it. But I haven't had any problem with it lifting up during bumps or anything either.

Old 08-17-2018, 03:31 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by BeyondAddiction