Upgrading audio equipment but need expert advice :thumbups:

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2015, 07:04 PM
Upgrading audio equipment but need expert advice :thumbups:

Well I currently have a kenwood deck and a Boss Audio AR1500M mono block amp with a 4 gauge kit(which I know is not great, it is something I will upgrade soon) installed on my 2010 fit sport. I was running the Polk DB1222 until they were stolen from my drive way (pretty sure I got an idea who did it because he has vanished since, also my fault for not installing a alarm which I am doing before putting the new system in) so I am planning on upgrading it all around since I have came into some new equipment recently ! My pops sent me his Kenwood DDX8901HD Double din and his Kenwood XR900-5 5 channel amp.

Here are a few things I am having trouble with since I am not a expert-

I want to install a Alpine Type R 10 inch sub but not sure if to go with the SWR-10D2 or SWR-10D4 in order for it to work with my current amp or If I will be able to run this without upgrading to a higher gauge wire/high performance battery?

Going to install that other kenwood amp and run aftermarket speakers I was thinking of running all 4 of the same speakers but I have heard others say they run 2 component and 2 coaxial, is there any reasoning for this? I was thinking of running some on Infinity Reference or Kappa line.

Any input of feedback will be greatly appreciate Thanks!!

Old 03-29-2015, 12:13 AM
That Kenwood amp is probably underpowered for those subs, although I will say that a sub's rating has a range, not just a single number, so it may depend on what's in the manual. But that's the kind of sub that likes heaps of power, and something I'd run with a dedicated amp.