2nd Generation GE8 Specific Wheel & Tire Sub-Forum This sub-forum is for all wheel & tire threads pertaining to the second generation Honda Fit (GE8)

Service advisors--AAARRRGGGGHHHHH!

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2012, 07:32 PM
5 Year Member
Service advisors--AAARRRGGGGHHHHH!

My new Fit base is coming in two weeks, so I called the dealer to get a quote to swap the OEM tires and TPMS sensors onto 2003 civic alloy rims. The service advisor is insisting that the TPMS sensors need to be recalibrated with the car, for an extra $100 on top of the $100/mounting balancing. I think he's making this up, because the sensors are going back on the same car with the same tires at the same original pressures.

Anybody got any documentation/experience with this that I can use on the bone-head service advisor?

Old 05-14-2012, 11:39 AM
thats complete bullshit.. i'm a service tech at Canadian Tire and I just worked on a CRV yesterday.. moved the 4 sensors over to another alloy rim that we sell and once i slapped them on, light was off

Old 05-14-2012, 01:40 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by iDerek
moved the 4 sensors over to another alloy rim that we sell and once i slapped them on, light was off
Thanks iDerek--I'll stick to my guns and tell them don't even write up the recalibrate.

Old 05-14-2012, 01:42 PM
5 Year Member
Screw him.......I mounted a scan gauge in the way of my tpms light. I bought aftermarket rims with sensors in them, tried taking it to a firestone, Goodyear and just gave up. I ain't going to no stealership...

Old 05-14-2012, 01:55 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by fittacular81
Screw him.......I mounted a scan gauge in the way of my tpms light. I bought aftermarket rims with sensors in them, tried taking it to a firestone, Goodyear and just gave up. I ain't going to no stealership...
I work at Firestone and we can recalibrate them

Old 05-14-2012, 02:19 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by iDerek