3rd Gen GK Specific Fit Interior Modifications Sub-Forum Threads discussing interior modifications for the 3rd generation GK Honda Fit

Any Danger with LEDS?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2014, 12:58 PM
m_x
Any Danger with LEDS?

I'm wondering if there is any potential damage to the electrical system that can be caused by LEDs?

I used the JTechs that we all used and for the past few days (maybe longer because I don't usually drive at night), the map/dome lights will all intermittently flash on dimly for a split second and then go off. Maybe every 20-30 seconds.

I had a problem with the pancake LED for the cargo area wherein I broke a small piece off the back and had to solder it back on. It worked for a few weeks, but the other day it was flickering badly, so I removed it. I believe that's when I noticed the maps/dome acting up. Just hoping it wasn't some kind of short circuit or something that fried something else in the system.

I am NOT an electrician and blanked out most of my circuitry lessons from physics class... I have no idea where to even begin diagnosing this. I shot a video of it last night, but I want to get a better one. I will post it when I can. I will say that all of the bulbs are tight in their sockets and the fuse looked clean and unbroken. I have no idea

Oh and the headlights and gauge panel is not affected. Just the interior maps, center dome, and probably the cargo area but I can't see it. I first noticed this happening at highway speeds.

Old 10-14-2014, 02:12 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by m_x
I'm wondering if there is any potential damage to the electrical system that can be caused by LEDs?

I used the JTechs that we all used and for the past few days (maybe longer because I don't usually drive at night), the map/dome lights will all intermittently flash on dimly for a split second and then go off. Maybe every 20-30 seconds.