3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

New manual driver - Afraid I'm riding the clutch

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2015, 02:32 PM
New manual driver - Afraid I'm riding the clutch

Hey guys, I'd really appreciate some guidance. I purchased an LX 6 speed last night and I'm loving it, but it's my first manual car and I really want to make sure I'm using it without applying extra wear and tear. It's my first time with a manual car, but I did a lot of research beforehand and can drive it pretty decently, but I think I might be riding the clutch.

When I'm in reverse, my clutch is at a halfway point the entire time I'm backing out. I like to back out slowly so I don't hit anything, so if I don't keep the clutch half way, I would stall out. How do you manage reversing?

After starting into first and getting rolling, by the time I'm ready to switch it into second gear, my foot is either still on the clutch so that I transfer into first smoothly, or I had just finished disengaging the clutch a second or two before. Am I holding the clutch down too long in first?

When changing gears, if I engage the clutch, switch gears (up), and disengage the clutch, the car will jolt a little bit. Instead, after switch gears, I apply a little gas as I slowly disengage the clutch. This is smoother, but am I wearing the clutch too much?

Should I stick to the first 4 gears when I'm driving under highway speeds to decrease extra shifting and clutch usage? I've only gone into 5th once so far.

I really like the car and I'd love to know what I can do to make it stay with me for a long time, so please let me know if you have any pointers.

Thanks!

Old 08-22-2015, 10:34 PM
Originally Posted by ttches