Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

DIY: Acura TL Switchblade Key Fob

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 07:56 PM
DIY: Acura TL Switchblade Key Fob

NOTE: This mod was done on a 2007 Sport Model. It appears that the 2008 models MAY have the same immobilizer as the TL does. What this means is that if you do not want to waste one of your keys by taking it apart, you can just get the TL fob key cut and the immobilizer programmed to match your car. I have no personal knowledge if this works or not, so do so at your own risk

Disclaimer: The following is provided as a GUIDE ONLY, and neither myself, nor FITFREAK.NET endorse, recommend, encourage nor take any responsibility for the outcome of someone else doing the following. You follow these steps at your own risk!
Tools: Phillips screwdrivers, drill
Time: an hour or less
What you will need to buy:
  • TL key/transmitter assembly: 35111-SEP-306 - this part # is for the Memory 1 fob. I'm unsure if the Memory 2 fob will work or not, but it was double the price at the dealership!!
  • **OPTIONAL** RDX faceplate (to delete the trunk button): 35118-STK-A01

First thing you need to do is disassemble one of your current Fit keys. Use a small phillips screwdriver to unscrew and remove the back piece of the key. You should see something similar to this:

The red arrow is pointing to where you will find the immobilizer chip for the Fit. There will be a small white piece of plastic overing the chip. Remove that and carefully pry the chip out of the hole. It is held on by some adhesive so a little force may have to be used, but be careful as the chip is encased in glass shell.

This is what the chip looks like:

Put the chip somewhere safe, as we'll need it later.

Next, take your phillips screwdriver and unscrew the screw at the bottom end of the TL key fob.

This will allow you to remove the remote transmitter section of the fob.