Fit Suspension & Brake Modifications Threads discussing suspension and brake related modifications for the Honda Fit

Brake Rust

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2008, 12:48 AM
Question Brake Rust

Hi everyone,
my name is Heidi and this is my first post here...I searched the forums for this kind of topic but didn't find anything so here it goes.

First of all, I'm a new fit owner--I just got my Sport MT in vivid blue pearl two days ago and I love it! I did notice however that there is some rust above the brake pads that doesn't look very good. I'm not good with cars but my dad looked at it and said it was normal. He also said that that part of the brake could be painted (as well as the calipers and the back outside of the drums). Has anyone done this before? Do you recommend it? And what's the best kind of paint/good place to find a match in color to the body?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Old 01-07-2008, 01:55 AM
Supervillain
5 Year Member
are you sure it's rust? it could just be the brake dust, which are the dust particles that are released from the brake pads when they are applied to the discs. if it's just brake dust, there is nothing to worry about. brake dust looks pretty much just like rust. you can just wash it off with soap and a rag. i'm betting it's just brake dust so you shouldn't have anything to worry about. anybody else?

Old 01-07-2008, 02:49 AM
Honda Fit Forums Moderator
My front rotors get rusty after I wash the car, but it's very little, and the rust just gets rubbed off as soon as you brake again. I wonder if you just noticed this after you were out in the rain?

Old 01-07-2008, 02:58 AM
Welcome and Congrats with getting a fit...

Ummm...your question is a bit vague to me (I could just be dense or )....can you describe the area specifically again? (it doesnt sound like you mean the caliper because you already stated that it can be painted)

like shape size location...(I am guessing you dont mean rotor/disk, caliper, hub...)