General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Fit 2008 vs Fit 2009 - The Decision

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2008, 06:48 PM
5 Year Member
Fit 2008 vs Fit 2009 - The Decision

A Fit forum member recently questioned the pros and cons of buying a 2008 vs. waiting for the 2009. Another member of the forum commented to the effect, if you like the 2008, get it, if you prefer the 2009, get it. As someone who was actually planning to go the Corolla 2009 route a few months ago, I studied all the 2009 Corolla photos. I researched the Corolla printed materials. I valued the Edmund's take on the Corolla's first test drive. I was sure I was going to be buying a 2009 Corolla.

When these Corollas rolled into the Toyota dealership in the spring of 2008, I was the first to give the 5 speed sport model a test drive. There was something about the lack of pick up that I didn't like. There was something about the rather cheap-looking, plastic dash that didn't speak to me. The entire experience of driving this 2009 Corolla was a bit disappointing.

It was then I concluded that for all the literature in the world - for all the visuals of the Corolla's interior or exterior - for me, the actual proof was in the pudding. This meant seeing the actual vehicle in person and giving it a test drive in person.

That said, when I decided the Corolla 2009 5 speed manual was now out of the picture, I test drove, among other 5 speed vehicles, the 2008 Fit. Is it possible to say I fell in love at hello? As much as my hello with the 2008 Fit had me at my very first drive, I went to the internet, read the literature, watched the videos and met you guys and wondered... should I wait for the 2009s? After all, they will have arm rests. They will have side door moldings. They will have the dead foot petal. They will have map lights, a quicker engine, and an arguably sleeker body style.

I was in a quandary.