General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

1990 honds civic dx hatchback(good buy?)

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2006, 01:24 PM
1990 honds civic dx hatchback(good buy?)

Hi
This is my first post. I have been logging onto this site for the past 3 months and I love it. My wife has been bugging me for the past year to get rid of my 1986 vw Quantum station wagon. It has 257,000 miles and has never broken down on me. I have been doing alot of research for the past year, I am VERY interested in the FIT. Yesterday, someone I work with offered to sell me their deceased brothers 1990 civic dx hatchback. His parents drive it about 2,000 miles a year and store it in a garage for the rest of the time. It has 50,000 miles and is in excellent shape. I am a few weeks from buying a new fit, SHOULD I HOLD OFF AND BUY THE 90 CIVIC OR FORGET ABOT THE CIVIC AND GET THE FIT?? any suggestions/comments would help. Thanks

Old 03-14-2006, 01:33 PM
Someone that spends his life on FitFreak.net
Those EF body style Civics can last forever with the proper maintenance. I had a 1990 Civic Si that wassold with 408,000kms on it. It had been well maintained throughout it’s life.

Depends on you. Are you happy with a 16 year old bare bones car, or do you want some nice accessories, cup holders, safety equipment?

Old 03-14-2006, 01:43 PM
What are her reasons for making you sell your VW?

A 1990 Civic with only 50k on it will last a long time, but I'd be sure to make sure that it's been maintained. Low mileage alone does not a solid car make, make sure that age-related issues have all been dealt with (hoses, etc..).

In the end, it'll be much cheaper to keep the Civic and do maintenance on it than it will be to make payments on a warranteed Fit.

Although, a 1990 Civic DX is also not a Fit. I guess it depends on priorities.

Old 03-14-2006, 01:43 PM