General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

It's only minor damage, but I'm clueless

Old 08-31-2010, 03:57 PM
It's only minor damage, but I'm clueless

Hiya folks,

I've been the owner of a 2009 Honda Fit (Sport) since last year, and I've been incredibly happy with it. No complaints whatsoever, and that's a fine thing especially given that it's the first car I've ever bought.

Before I go on I should mention that I am in no way a car hobbiest. Not that I don't see the appeal, I just don't want to accidentally give the impression that I share the background knowledge/enthusiasm that the rest of you undoubtedly do. In other words, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to cars in general, so my question is probably going to sound pretty stupid.

Yesterday it suffered it's first real wound when I stupidly backed it up into a column in a parking garage. The right tail light cover partially broke off and the corresponding area on the bumper is dented/scratched, etc.

The nearest body shop is a decent drive away, and I need the car to commute to work. I read online that it's a simple matter to replace the tail light cover myself, but I don't know where to begin looking for where to purchase a replacement cover. So far all I've found are entire tail light modules which cost $100+.

Is it indeed as cheap and easy to replace the cover myself as I've been led to believe? Or am I better off bringing the whole thing to a body shop and trying to find a way to somehow work around my lack of mobility while they probably take their sweet time to fix it?

Again, I'm sorry to contribute a helplessly noobie question to your forum for enthusiasts, but if anyone could offer me a quick tip I'd be very greatful. I don't really have anyone else that I can ask about this stuff.

Old 08-31-2010, 04:05 PM
5 Year Member