2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Would love some help figuring out my USB problem.

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 04:59 PM
Would love some help figuring out my USB problem.

I have been using a Sandisk cruiser micro 16GB for around 2 years now, and its been working well besides the fact that it lags a bit when scrolling through folders and songs. I finally got around to ordering a better flash drive, and I picked up a Corsair Voyager 32GB off amazon.

I copied the music over to the new drive, and my fit says its unsupported. I pulled it out, reformatted it to FAT32, and tried again with two MP3s. No luck, still unsupported.

There is nothing else on the drive but the two MP3s, and I dont think there are any partitions or other hidden files messing things up.

I would love any advice or suggestions on how to fix this!

Or better yet, does anyone have a flash drive that scrolls fast through folders and songs that works?

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-29-2013, 06:46 PM
I think the slowish scrolling is due to the radio, not the flash drive. I use a PNY Attache 16 GB, and it's a bit sluggish too. Even with a slow flash drive, the directory can be read practically instantaneously.

What sort of a computer are you using to format the drive and put the files on? What are the filenames of the files (and, in particular, is the extension correct)? Are you sure the files are not corrupted or protected with DRM?

Old 10-29-2013, 09:30 PM
it could very well just be an incompatability with the drive itself. the flash controller inside the usb stick may not be supported by your head unit.

i had that happen with my gopro hero 3 black, my canon camera, ITG2 arcade machine, etc etc.

see if you know anyone else with a 32gb stick and try it. you may be limited to very few models, or even 16gb sticks.

Old 05-21-2014, 07:54 AM
Don't want to post a new thread, so here goes: