1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Rear Door Removal **Tech Help please**

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2010, 05:22 PM
Rear Door Removal **Tech Help please**

Hi guys, need to replace my left rear door. Looking up the part has kind of confused me. Hoping there is a tech out there or someone knowledgeable in this to advise.

If you look at my image, it shows an actual door frame and the “skin set” (referred to as outer panel on another site)
I want to replace the door because of accident. Someone backed into it.

Looking at the actual door on the car, it does not appear the door can have a separate outer panel or Skin that would attach to the actual door. I was a Honda tech at one time, been out for about 8 years, so replacing a door and swapping the parts should not be a terribly difficult job.

Hoping a tech could help only because I this info I got looks to be out of a Honda parts catalog. Any info would be appreciated.
Name:  untitled-1.jpg
Views: 5249
Size:  79.0 KB

Thanks for your time. Josh

Old 11-29-2010, 06:07 PM
5 Year Member
The edge of the outer door is folded over the inner door. It's then sealed with automotive caulk. You're better off just getting the whole door. GL

Old 11-29-2010, 06:15 PM
Originally Posted by john380
The edge of the outer door is folded over the inner door. It's then sealed with automotive caulk. You're better off just getting the whole door. GL
Thanks John,

My concern is looking at that parts catalog, does not appear that Honda sells the door in its entirety. If I can buy the whole door I would do that for sure. I want to keep OEM parts on the car.

Do you have experience in this? Or know if this is possible?

Old 11-30-2010, 04:11 AM
5 Year Member
Try a local scrap yard or Ebay for an entire door.

Old 11-30-2010, 05:33 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by splinters81
Thanks John,