2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum Threads discussing engine mods/swaps/tuning for the 2nd generation GE8 Honda Fit.

J2534 Reflash Possibilities

  #1  
Old 08-13-2009, 04:01 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Thumbs up J2534 Reflash Possibilities

I just recently purchased a 2009 FIT MT to replace my Subaru's. I currently tune 02-11 Subaru's and 03-11 EVO's via OpenSource and have been using the Tactrix OpenPort 2.0 cable with no issues. I have been searching around for any information relating to ECU Reflashing for the Honda FIT and have found little in terms of using the factory ecu.

I now have the HDS J2534 software from Honda and have successfully communicated with the FIT. With this I hope to be able to retrieve the factory image from the ECU and begin dissasembly in IDA Pro.

I have also worked with Brian Palmer at Palmer Performance to help get PCMSCAN to work with the vehicle. I can now datalog basic parameters once we begin to change areas of the ROM.

I'm starting this thread to poll for and track any information pertaining to the factory ecu and how to wiggle my way inside. I will see what we can retrieve and if any type of access to the ECU beyond this is possible.

We've been able to do this for Subaru's and Mitsu's pretty easily so I know there is hope for the FIT.

Thanks in advance for any support or help.


Resources Found:

2009 FIT PDI
2010 FIT PDI

IDLE Learn Procedure 2009 FIT
2009 FIT Injector Replacement
2009 FIT Spark Plug Replacement

How to replace your ECM 2009 FIT
2009 FIT Ecu Pinouts and Arrangement
2009 FIT PGM-FI Schematics

Updating Control Modules TSB 5/15/09
Honda ECU Mode6 Test Results
2009 FIT Radio Removal

2009 Honda Fit ECU Information:

CAN Protocol: 29-bit / ISO15765

ECU Calibration Files

2009 FIT MT (Non-Nav) - 37805-RP3-A030 (Part #37820-RP3-A03)
2009 FIT MT (Nav) - 37805-RP3-A130 (Part #37820-RP3-A13)
2009 FIT AT (Non-Nav) - 37805-RP3-A530 (Part #37820-RP3-A53)
2009 FIT AT (Nav) - 37805-RP3-A730 (Part #37820-RP3-A73)
2009 FIT ?? (SRS Unit) - 77959-TK6-A20 (Part #77960-TK6-A01)

Manufactured by Keihin JP

Possible chip inside is Hitachi RISC 93C56.

Road Dyno Information:

Curb Weight (lbs, MT/AT): 2520 / 2604

MT Gear Ratios

1st: 3.308
2nd: 1.870
3rd: 1.303
4th: 0.949
5th: 0.727
Final Drive: 4.620

AT Gear Ratios

1st: 2.996
2nd: 1.679
3rd: 1.067
4th: 0.761
5th: 0.552
Final Drive: 4.560
 

Last edited by ev8siv3; 07-09-2010 at 01:24 PM.
  #2  
Old 08-13-2009, 06:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wilton, CT
Posts: 578
Very interesting . . . how much did the software set you back? Last I looked, software from Honda wasn't for the weak of wallet.


What little I've done is just pick up a basic OBD ELM327 interface off ebay. I run it with ScanXL from Palmer Engineering, lots of features, but obviously doesn't do what you're looking for.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-2009, 07:49 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
The HDS is a year subscription + software for around $310 shipped. I'm hoping it has some greater functionality than only flash. My main goal is to retrieve a factory ROM. If not at least it will be helpful in sniffing the ports for an entryway into the ecu.
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:36 PM
sbualuba's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Highland, CA
Posts: 215
I wish you good luck! Many of us are waiting for a N/A reflash!
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-2009, 11:17 AM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Thanks. I am gathering up some documents right now and adding them to the original post. Quite a lot of resources available out there!
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-2009, 03:41 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Originally Posted by Daemione View Post
Very interesting . . . how much did the software set you back? Last I looked, software from Honda wasn't for the weak of wallet.


What little I've done is just pick up a basic OBD ELM327 interface off ebay. I run it with ScanXL from Palmer Engineering, lots of features, but obviously doesn't do what you're looking for.
Would you mind taking a screenshot of the available logging parameters from your ScanXL? My ScanXL doesn't appear to be working properly right now but I'm going to see if it connects up to my CR-V as well.

Does the program have the ability to log to a .CSV file?
 
  #7  
Old 08-14-2009, 03:55 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
What kind of logs do you need?

I have an OBD2 logger.
 
  #8  
Old 08-14-2009, 03:58 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
I would like to see a log of the following if applicable:

Starting at 1000rpm and ending at redline. Preferably in 3rd gear.

Engine Speed (RPM)
Engine Load ?
MAF Airflow
MAP Sensor (Manifold Relative Pressure)
Ignition Timing
A/F Ratio
Knock Signals
Throttle Position
 
  #9  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:03 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
I just put in an inquiry to buy the GNA600 kit.

Let's see.

EDIT:
Holy crap, $2072.
 

Last edited by awptickes; 08-14-2009 at 04:22 PM.
  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:04 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
K, I'll log that this afternoon after I get off work.

Originally Posted by ev8siv3 View Post
I would like to see a log of the following if applicable:

Starting at 1000rpm and ending at redline. Preferably in 3rd gear.

Engine Speed (RPM)
Engine Load ?
MAF Airflow
MAP Sensor (Manifold Relative Pressure)
Ignition Timing
A/F Ratio
Knock Signals
Throttle Position
 
  #11  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:27 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Originally Posted by awptickes View Post
I just put in an inquiry to buy the GNA600 kit.

Let's see.

EDIT:
Holy crap, $2072.
Yeah unless it came with a fully featured editing and logging suite the GNA600 is nothing more than a glorified CANbus cable with display. I'm hoping the Tactrix 2.0 Passthru will work with the HDS software.. My copy shipped today so it should be here early next week!
 
  #12  
Old 08-14-2009, 05:27 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
Hrm, I logged it, now I have to figure out how to get the log files off of my iPhone.

EDIT: Shit. It's impossible, no export features.
 
  #13  
Old 08-14-2009, 05:31 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
Ok, so lemme run out and get some other stuff done, then I'll get some other logging software.

The only PID unsupported is knock sensor. I got everything else.
 
  #14  
Old 08-14-2009, 05:36 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Do you have a way of showing what the PID values are? I have logging software now that is able to connect to the ECU but I have to define all of the parameters.

I basically need the PID ID, Offset, Bit, Byte, and Conversion.
 
  #15  
Old 08-14-2009, 07:41 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
Lemme look see if I can.

I might just pull the developer's build off my iPhone then jailbreak it to see if I can find the place where the logs are stored... Because there's no way I'm paying $99 for the stupid ScanXL-ELM software.
 
  #16  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wilton, CT
Posts: 578
Originally Posted by ev8siv3 View Post
Would you mind taking a screenshot of the available logging parameters from your ScanXL? My ScanXL doesn't appear to be working properly right now but I'm going to see if it connects up to my CR-V as well.
Next time I get a chance to hook it up to the car, I'll list out the .pid's it can log - I'm pretty sure it won't even fit in a single screen-shot. In a nutshell, if the car has the sensor, it can log it . . .

Does the program have the ability to log to a .CSV file?
From the little playing around I've done, I don't think it can output into a comma-delimited file. For the logs I've done it uses it's own .lgf file format - those contain anywhere from 1 to 8 parameters being logged simultaneously in it's graphing function. I'm also not sure of how to get the other PID values/information you're looking for.
 
  #17  
Old 08-16-2009, 12:08 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
Originally Posted by Daemione View Post
From the little playing around I've done, I don't think it can output into a comma-delimited file. For the logs I've done it uses it's own .lgf file format - those contain anywhere from 1 to 8 parameters being logged simultaneously in it's graphing function.
I'm having the same problem. I can't get a usable data format out of any of these programs.
 
  #18  
Old 08-16-2009, 12:23 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
I have ScanXL-J2534, AutoEnginuity, and PCMScan, can you send over a log file from either of these?
 
  #19  
Old 08-16-2009, 08:17 PM
awptickes's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 991
Unfortunately I can't get the log files off of my iPhone.

I'm going to try logging that stuff with a cracked iPhone.
 
  #20  
Old 08-19-2009, 03:17 PM
ev8siv3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Update: HDS Software is here and installed. About to go hook everything up to the car and see what happens.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: J2534 Reflash Possibilities


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.