Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   2nd Generation (GE 08-13) (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/2nd-generation-ge-08-13/)
-   -   Issues After Lost Motion Spring Recall (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/2nd-generation-ge-08-13/63563-issues-after-lost-motion-spring-recall.html)

Lyon[Nightroad] 04-07-2011 10:23 PM

You'll get a different quality valve adjustment from every tech. Using feeler gauges is a bit of an art form and what one person considers too tight or too loose might seem just fine to another. I'd ask for a tech with experience since the valve adjustment procedure is similar between most new hondas.

geomarathoner 04-08-2011 10:43 AM

snapped off bolt?

Originally Posted by B18C5-EH2 (Post 980714)
I work at an Atlanta, GA area Honda dealership, and I'm a service writer.

My service department has been doing a ton of these 11-010 recalls, and thus far I've not seen any issues yet. My dealership is in a sort of "nicer" area with some "upscale" owners, and I'm sure I'd have heard anything about cowl issues, or noisy engines.

Having said that I did have one of my customer's Fits have something nearly disastrous when one of our best master techs was doing the recall work:

One of the bolts that holds the rockers SNAPPED OFF when simply unbolting the rockers from the cylinder head! The bolts are on national back order, but luckily one of our other techs had the exact bolt, so the simple recall didn't turn into a multi day job waiting for a back ordered rocker bolt.

I have read on Honda-Tech (in their fit section) that some Honda techs are not even removing the cowling to do the recall. Some move the battery tray over, make room other ways, and swear that the complete job can be done without ever touching the wipers or cowling.