3rd Gen GK Specific Fit Exterior Modifications & JDM Styling Sub-Forum Threads discussing exterior modifications and JDM styling for the 3rd Gen GK Honda Fit

Paint protection film -self install

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2014, 11:23 AM
5 Year Member
Paint protection film -self install

So after getting a quote for over +$1000 I am thinking of installing the paint protection film myself. Has anybody on here done this before? I am a DIY shade-tree mechanic but the only experience I have doing anything like this would be yellow protection film I installed on my Subaru Outback's foglights, and then a 36"x48" one-way mirror tint I applied to a window in our bedroom. -We have a bird feeder mounted on the other side of the window to entertain our cats w/o the birds seeing the cats. Drives them nuts that they can see the birds 2 inches away. Anyways, here are my questions:

1. Should I wait until a kit is available specifically for the 2015 fit like this?:
Amazon.com: Honda Fit Sport (2012-2013) 3M Clear Bra Paint Protection Film Kit: Automotive Amazon.com: Honda Fit Sport (2012-2013) 3M Clear Bra Paint Protection Film Kit: Automotive

2. Should I just buy a roll like this and cut it myself? My main objective is protecting the first couple inches of the hood:
Amazon.com: 3M Clear Bra Paint Protection Bulk Film Roll 12-by-96-inches: Automotive Amazon.com: 3M Clear Bra Paint Protection Bulk Film Roll 12-by-96-inches: Automotive

3. Bite the bullet and just pay to get it done

Last edited by ADVphotography; 07-18-2014 at 11:44 AM.
Old 07-18-2014, 11:37 AM