3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Buying a new 2016 Fit LX. Anything I should now?

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 10:03 AM
Buying a new 2016 Fit LX. Anything I should now?

Hi all,

Been lurking here while I've been deciding what car to get and have finally settled on the Fit LX. Have test driven a few and they really stuck out compared to the other cars we were looking at.

So tonight if all goes well at the dealer I plan to be driving a way in a new Yellow 2016 fit. Talking to the dealer I made sure the one we are buying was a made in Japan one.

This is my first time buying a new car off the lot. Is there anything I should look for or know before I buy?

Old 03-14-2016, 10:50 AM
I'm also considering a Fit. The positive attributes of the Fit are obvious, but there are many threads in this forum reflecting ills associated with this generation of the Fit. Generally, I think many forums tend to shed more light on problems associated with a particular vehicle. Of course, this isn't always the case. Some issues Fit owners have experienced include the following: water leaks taillights, gap between the dashboard and A-pillar; gap between the front bumper and fender; sagging front bumper; flimsy fitment of the front license plate bracket, splash guard in the undercarriage section and crossbar on the hatch; squeaks and rattles; alignment and tire wear issues; strut issues; warped brakes; battery issues; weak A/C; easily scratched/chipped paint; CVT recall; door handle recall; grab handle recall.

To the contrary, some Fit owners will share that they haven't experienced any issues with their Fit. Like you, I walked away impressed after test driving a 2016 Fit LX. However, I'm in the process of weighing the pros and cons before I decide whether to purchase.

Old 03-14-2016, 11:39 AM
5 Year Member