Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

GE Drivetrain in a GD?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2017, 03:56 PM
5 Year Member
GE Drivetrain in a GD?

I'm trying to figure out the future for our recently retired GD3. For it to stay at this house, it needs a noticeable boost in power.

We bought the car new and, from day one, planned on either boosting or K swapping the car once retired from daily use. My thought, that proved to be very incorrect, was that the options would grow over time. My background is primarily domestics where the older the car, the more options. The GD stayed in regular use slightly longer than anticipated because it was a great car. Here we are now, 9 years later, and I can't find a single viable horsepower increase option. To put it in perspective, a 2008 domestic is still basically considered a new car and any parts brought out back then are either still available or have been superseded by better options. In the case of the GD, we had...

1. Very near completion on complete K swap kits
2. GReddy Racing turbo kit
3. HKS turbo kit
4. Kraftwerks Supercharger kit

All of those options have disappeared for the GD.

Some serious head scratching has led me to an interesting thought. Is it possible to swap the driveline from a GE into the GD and then use a Sprintex supercharger kit? If I'm not mistaken, that is the only turbo/supercharger kit currently available for any Fit platform. Picking up a totaled GE appears to be fairly easy. Any thoughts on whether or not the swap is possible?

I know it would be way easier to sell our GD and buy a GE, but we like our particular car. Plus, if the GD gets sold to buy a different project car, I would just go an entirely different direction.

Old 09-26-2017, 05:10 PM
5 Year Member
Been scouring the Internet and came across a Top Fuel Turbo Kit for sale.