General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

fit vs prius

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 04:04 PM
5 Year Member
fit vs prius

I am trying to chose between a Prius and a Fit base MT. I love the "save the environment" thing about the prius and the technology intrigues me, but I am a low mileage driver (5k miles a year currently) so the numbers don't make sense. Most of my driving is small town/rural roads. I am figuring 55mpg for the Prius and 35 for the Fit. Near as I can tell I will never regain the additional purchase price. With my driving pattern I will save ~52 gallons a year.

I thought I would be able to pony up the extra dough when it came time to buy, but I have better things to do with my money. My number crunching shows the Fit still ahead cost wise by about $6,700 after 10 years with gas at $4 a gallon. I had to put gas price at $16 a gallon in the spreadsheet to have the Prius beat the fit financially in 10 years. I imagine that the resale value of the Prius will be higher than the Fit if I decide to sell my new car at some point, but I tend to keep my cars forever - I drive a 1988 Crx currently, and just gave away my 1985 Civic 4wd!

You all seem to love your Fits on this forum!

The Prius folk have pointed out that the hybrid technology puts less stress on the engine/motor because each is allowed to operate within its most efficient range. The transmission is simpler. It is possible that over the long run the Prius will need fewer repairs.

Old 07-16-2009, 04:09 PM
I ran the math for me too. And even though I drive much more than you (12,000miles/yr.) the numbers still don't work in the Prius' favor.

I will be buying a fit sport as soon as I sell my truck.

Old 07-16-2009, 04:21 PM
5 Year Member
Did you consider the cost of replacement batteries, should the Prius ever need them. I'm gonna wait until the "plug-in" hybrids become readily available (if ever) before I even consider a hybrid.

Old 07-16-2009, 04:30 PM
5 Year Member