General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Manual Transmission Leaks

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2011, 12:42 PM
Angry Manual Transmission Leaks

I have a '10 Fit Sport w/ a manual trans. and 10,000 miles. I went under the front end recently to change the oil, and found oil and dirt stuck to the bottom of the trans.. It was obvious that the lube in the trans. has been leaking for some time. I cleaned the hole area and dried it, and within minutes there was fresh lube beginning to leak out of the joint where the two halves of the trans. are put together.
I have searched this site and can't find where anyone else is complaining of this issue. Has anyone heard of trans. leaks?
Man, do I not want to take this thing in and let those hack mechanics at the dealer rip it apart, but I see no option. I am a pretty good mechanic myself and I see only two ways for them to fix it. One, pull the trans., split it and reseal it. And two, pull the trans., and put in a new one. Rats!

Old 03-19-2011, 10:11 PM
Interested to see what happens, and in the morning i will be checking out the underside of my car...

Post any updates/struggles

Old 06-15-2011, 10:04 PM
5 Year Member
Any updates? Last week I was doing and oil change and noticed the same thing on my 08 AT Fit. Leaking fluid at the bottom where the engine and transaxle mate. I'm hoping the 5 year 60k powertrain warranty will cover this issue.

Old 06-16-2011, 04:37 PM