General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

steering wheel controls

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 01:54 PM
steering wheel controls

Newbie here with hopefully a stupid question. If I replace the original dvd navi system with aftermarket will it still allow the use of the in steering wheel controls?

Old 09-11-2012, 02:05 PM
Super Moderator
u will have to buy a steering wheel control interface such as this

Axxess ASWC Steering wheel control interface — connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to an aftermarket stereo at Crutchfield.com

it works great with my pioneer avh-8400bh.

u can also buy it on amazon or ebay, but i was willing to pay the premium price from crutchfield. i had alot of trouble wiring it and crutchfield tech support was a great help.

Old 09-11-2012, 05:07 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
yah, the new dvd unit has to have a remote-in compatibility and as noted above, you need to get a separate remote module. i use PAC and Peripheral on my cars, but Axxess appears to have fixed their flaws and now works as intended so in the future, i would try that.

Old 09-11-2012, 06:29 PM
Originally Posted by xxryu139x
u will have to buy a steering wheel control interface such as this

Axxess ASWC Steering wheel control interface — connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to an aftermarket stereo at Crutchfield.com

it works great with my pioneer avh-8400bh.

u can also buy it on amazon or ebay, but i was willing to pay the premium price from crutchfield. i had alot of trouble wiring it and crutchfield tech support was a great help.
I purchased that exact one, have not installed it yet...what confused me is that Crutchfield says it will work on my aftermarket HU but not on my Honda Fit... so i asked sales advisor who told me it will not work on my honda either...yet i read a thread here that says they installed it and works fine.