Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

T1R Clutch=Big Time FAIL

Old 08-07-2008, 05:13 PM
Luvs Dah b00st!
T1R Clutch=Big Time FAIL

Well..... where do i start? i guess ill start when i put the HKS turbo kit on my fit, which is awesome. i drove it for a few weeks and noticed that the clutch was starting to slip going into 2nd gear. so being an automotive technician myself i lifted the car up and took off the clutch inspection plate. what i found was, nothing, no dust no flakes no nothing. so against my better judgment i went on the AJ racing web site knowing they were the only ones that offered a clutch and pressure plate for the fit. what i read was very enticing. they went on and on about how this clutch was better and could hold up to 200 horse power and the how pressure was %30 stronger then stock and how it could be used on turbo or N/A cars. now the web site has changed drastically and says nothing about the capability's of this clutch, but that is besides the point. i bought the clutch and with out going into two many details it took WAY to long to get here, again besides the point. so with my new clutch in hand i took it to my local Honda dealer for them to install it because i only want the best to work on my car. this is where the "fun" starts, the tech who took the OEM clutch out told me there was noting at all wrong with the stock clutch it was not even showing any signs of ware. i told the tech that this is good because this new fancy T1R set has this %30 more grabbing power pressure plate and that will solve my slipping problem. the tech shook his head and told me that he had a good amount of the other techs look at it and none could tell the difference between the OEM and the T1R, pressure fingers, springs and surface all the same. same with the clutch disk it self ,it is all the same. well, i trusted this Canadian company and had Honda put it in anyways. the result is same pedal