3rd Generation GK Specific DIY: Repair & Maintenance Sub-Forum Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself on the 3rd generation Honda Fit (GK)

<100 miles, brake warning light on

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2015, 04:38 PM
<100 miles, brake warning light on

Hi all,

Newbie here, new Fit owner, and generally new to cars - I live in NYC, so this is my first. I bought a Fit two weeks ago, and it has less than 100 miles on it. Today the brake warning light came on (orange) and stayed on during an hour drive. I called the dealership and they said I could bring it in, but doing so will cost me a half day of work. Any suggestions / thoughts / advice? Do I have any leverage with the dealership - I'm very annoyed that this is happening at less than 100 miles.

Thanks in advance -

Old 06-26-2015, 04:47 PM
Super Moderator
stupid question but was your ebrake on?

Old 06-26-2015, 04:49 PM
Not stupid - but no, tried engaging / disengaging etc. just to check. Also checked brake fluid levels - they're topped off.

Old 06-26-2015, 06:58 PM
Bring it into the dealer, and let them take care of it under warranty. That's what the warranty and dealer's service department are there for. Incidentally, with many things, failures follow what's often referred to as a "bathtub curve" over time—the failure rate is pretty high for the first bit of the products life due to manufacturing defects, then low for the useful life of the product, then rises again as it wears out. (The graph looks something like the cross-section of a bathtub, hence the name.)

See if the dealer can provide you with courtesy transportation to and from work (or maybe you can take public transit from the dealer to your job and leave the car there all day). Most dealers and many independent service shops around here, which admittedly is not at all NYC, are quite willing to do that.

Old 06-26-2015, 07:46 PM