Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

changing rims/jacking points/jack stands

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 11:28 AM
5 Year Member
changing rims/jacking points/jack stands

Hello! I've searched the forums extensively and found a few threads about jacking the fit but many were specific to the GE8 and I have a GD. I'm a tire changing newb because this is the first car for which I have separate tires on rims so I'm game to change the wheels myself (whereas I wouldn't attempt to mount tires onto the rims).

Here's how I want to proceed: I'll be changing one tire at a time since I won't be rotating tires, simply remove the summer rims and replacing them with my winter rims. I want to jack up each wheel slightly (not off the ground), loosen the lug nuts using my breaker bar, jack up the wheel off the ground, swap the wheels and slightly tighten the lugs in a star pattern, lower the wheel until the tire touches the ground, finish tightening the lugs with my torque wrench. The reason, I'm letting the tire touch the ground for heavy tightening or loosening is that I've been told not to do that to avoid putting strain on the transmission.

Here are my questions:
-how many footpounds of torque are needed for the lug nuts? Should they be even tighter for the winter or just the same as any season?
-Should I place the jack on the jacking points and place the jack stands under the car wheels (if so where) or should I place the jack under the crossmember and place the jacks stands under the welded metal scissor jack tabs? If I place the jack under the crossmember, does it have to be centered, or can it be off to the side to lift each front wheel independantly?
-can I just forego jack stands since I'm jacking a wheel at a time and I'm not working under the car?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions

Old 11-06-2012, 11:58 AM
80ft lbs for the GE. GD's probably the same. No need for stands if changing 1 wheel at a time.