***The Official SSR Intake DIY Thread (Sid Short Ram Intake)*** - Page 2 - Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Go Back  Unofficial Honda FIT Forums > Fit Modifications > Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning
Reload this Page >

***The Official SSR Intake DIY Thread (Sid Short Ram Intake)***

Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

***The Official SSR Intake DIY Thread (Sid Short Ram Intake)***

  #21  
Old 05-07-2008, 01:54 PM
HarumaN's Avatar
Member
5 Year Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 173
Nice! How far did you have to move the battery?
 
  #22  
Old 05-07-2008, 04:00 PM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
Not to far I just loosened up the bracket on top and moved it over as far as it goes without touching the other side that way I could move the intake more and I could fit my hand in there.

I didn't really have to move the battery but it definitely helped to move it over.
 
  #23  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
Looks good Fitcapo... clean install!
 
  #24  
Old 05-07-2008, 10:58 PM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
Thank you really got to give props to sid 6.7 tho he is the reason I did it and his DIY helped
 
  #25  
Old 05-09-2008, 01:25 AM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
Really loving this intake it is really cheap and mpg has been better throttle response has been better and pick up is better at higher rpms.

Only draw back is when you play you pay more in mpg but I think that would be expected....
 
  #26  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:14 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
Sid or Fitcapo... do either of you have a closer pic of how far away from the silcone boot the AIT sensor hole... i dont have any slack in my wiring and it looks like i will have to drill the hole right next to the boot that connects to the throttle body...
 
  #27  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:14 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
i got it installed... had to put the sensor rubber boot right up against the silicone boot that mounts to the TB. I am going to have to try and get some slack in the wires as the sensor is sitting at an angle slightly because the wires just arent long enough.
 
  #28  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:31 PM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
Let me take a pic when I get home. At work right now...
 
  #29  
Old 05-09-2008, 09:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 188
How about this...

 
  #30  
Old 05-09-2008, 10:49 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
Originally Posted by gmane View Post
How about this...
Thats one way to do it i guess.

I'm going to go get a 45 degree bend tomorrow to help the 90 bend tube sit straighter on the TB. The filter is up against the battery and that is making the whole thing sit a little crooked. I'm pretty sure that will help me get the slack on the sensor wires that i need.
 
  #31  
Old 05-09-2008, 11:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Well this was a 5 minute job.. i'm gonna remove the air duct so it can sit straight but probably leave the bottom half of the airbox to block some hot air..
 
  #32  
Old 05-10-2008, 02:17 AM
ezduzit's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 249
Originally Posted by Sloto200 View Post
i got it installed... had to put the sensor rubber boot right up against the silicone boot that mounts to the TB. I am going to have to try and get some slack in the wires as the sensor is sitting at an angle slightly because the wires just arent long enough.

You might not have the boot pushed as far as it will go on the TB. There is a small tab on the TB that the boot should sit flush with.

All it takes is just pushing the boot on a little farther to create enough slack to eliminate that angle on the sensor.

ez
 
  #33  
Old 05-10-2008, 11:36 AM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
Originally Posted by ezduzit View Post
You might not have the boot pushed as far as it will go on the TB. There is a small tab on the TB that the boot should sit flush with.

All it takes is just pushing the boot on a little farther to create enough slack to eliminate that angle on the sensor.

ez
Oh its all the way on there, believe me... one of the perks of my job, working on environmental systems of aircraft. Some ducts are connected together with rubber or silicone boots... guess i'm just one of the lucky ones that doesnt have any slack in the wiring. Going to get that other duct today to see if it gives me a little more slack.
 
  #34  
Old 05-11-2008, 02:15 AM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
Originally Posted by Sloto200 View Post
i got it installed... had to put the sensor rubber boot right up against the silicone boot that mounts to the TB. I am going to have to try and get some slack in the wires as the sensor is sitting at an angle slightly because the wires just arent long enough.
I don't know if this will help at all but here are three pics....

Name:  Intakehelp3.jpg
Views: 2687
Size:  48.8 KB

Name:  Intakehelp2.jpg
Views: 2695
Size:  74.0 KB

Name:  Intakehelp1.jpg
Views: 2692
Size:  57.6 KB
 
  #35  
Old 05-11-2008, 06:31 AM
ezduzit's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 249
Originally Posted by Sloto200 View Post
Oh its all the way on there, believe me... one of the perks of my job, working on environmental systems of aircraft. Some ducts are connected together with rubber or silicone boots... guess i'm just one of the lucky ones that doesnt have any slack in the wiring. Going to get that other duct today to see if it gives me a little more slack.

Sounds good.

I also saw one installation where the guy cut a semi-circle out at the edge of the boot to allow the sensor to be mounted without any tension. If you put the hose clamp inboard just a bit, it will give you enough room to do that.

BTW, my son is a C-5 crewchief at Travis AFB.

Ex-Navy here, but he doesn't hold it against me.

ez
 
  #36  
Old 05-11-2008, 12:25 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
Auto zone didnt have any more 90 degree bends and i knew a 45 wasnt going to have enough angle so i got the 60 degree bend. Tension is off the wires now. I've only driven it once and that was to go back to auto zone to get the 60 degree bend... sounds alot different now... Thanks for the closer pics Fitcapo... puts me at ease knowing my sensor is pretty much in the same place as yours.

Name:  IMG_1283.jpg
Views: 2683
Size:  55.9 KB
Name:  IMG_1281.jpg
Views: 2686
Size:  120.9 KB
 
  #37  
Old 05-11-2008, 01:31 PM
Fitcapo's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,257
How is that not using the another coupler for that second pipe? Is it holding together well using just the clamp attached to the second pipe?
 
  #38  
Old 05-11-2008, 03:01 PM
ezduzit's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 249
Originally Posted by Fitcapo View Post
How is that not using the another coupler for that second pipe? Is it holding together well using just the clamp attached to the second pipe?

The clamp in the middle to hold the two pipe sections worked well for me when I had that system installed.

I had a lot of trouble trying to get those screwy o-rings to stay put, however, until I used a little vaseline in the grooves. I don't think the o-rings really do anything anyway.

ez
 
  #39  
Old 05-11-2008, 04:56 PM
Sloto200's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sheppard AFB, TX
Posts: 187
i'm not so sure it is the best thing to have on there really. I to had issues with the oring staying in place but like ez said, i'm not so sure it is doing any good. Both of the elbow pieces need to be pushed together and that plastic clamp cranked down to ensure it isnt leaking. I do have another of the silicone boots but decided to try hooking it up like this first. I will probably swap it out soon with the silicone boot, just for piece of mind.
 
  #40  
Old 05-13-2008, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 450
Oh that looks SO easy. If it rates an increase in fuel economy, even by just a couple MPG, it would be worth it to me. The Fit is my DD, and gets about 45 miles every day. Bumping my 33-34mpg average up a few would be nice!

I'm going to make a list of the parts. I'll probably go with a K&N filter element, so I can clean it easily.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: ***The Official SSR Intake DIY Thread (Sid Short Ram Intake)***


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.